Cape Coast Technical University is a unique University that is committed to training of highly skilled human resource in Engineering, Applied Sciences and Technology, Applied Arts and Business in close collaboration with the industries and commerce. Cape Coast Technical University (CCTU), formerly Cape Coast Polytechnic was established in 1984 as a second cycle institution.

In 1986, it operated under the Ghana Education Service (GES) to offer intermediary courses leading to the award of non-tertiary certificates. Following the enactment of the Polytechnic Law (PNDCL 321) in 1992, the University was upgraded to a tertiary level to run programmes in various disciplines leading to the award of Higher National Diplomas (HND) in Engineering, Business and Applied Sciences and Arts awarded by the National Board for Professional and Technician Examination (NABPTEX).

Currently, as a Technical University, and per the Technical Universities Act, 2016 (Act 922), as amended, in 2018 Act (Act 974), Cape Coast Technical University is mandated to provide higher education in Engineering, Applied Sciences and Arts, Technical and Vocational Education and Training and other related disciplines. The aim is to train students to be academically and technically balanced in order to match the challenges of the new century.

The University offers Master of Technology programmes, four (4) year Bachelor Degree, Bachelor of Technology (Top-Ups), Higher National Diploma, Professional Diploma and other Diploma Programmes. The University has six (6) Schools, which are made up of; School of Engineering, School of Applied Arts, School of Applied Sciences and Technology, School of Built and Natural Environment, School of Business and Management Studies and School of Graduate Studies. The Schools are each headed by a Dean and sub-divided into eighteen (18) academic departments. There are plans to obtain the requisite accreditation for the running of Doctor of Technology programmes in the near future.``

The University also has Directorates, Sections and Units, which contribute to the teaching and learning processes. The University now has as its focus to be a leading, innovative, and entrepreneurial Technical University with local, national and global influence.

It has a serene environment conducive for teaching and learning with beautiful sights. The University is located at Eyifua in the north constituency of the Cape Coast Metropolis, the capital city of the Central Region of Ghana. Since its inception, the University has become an excellent academic centre for the training of manpower for the industries in Ghana and beyond.